Problem 1 continued… 4

What’s the problem?

2

I have to choose between two univs. Florida or netherlands.

 

What do you need to make a decision?

1) I need to understand the pros and cons of both univs. Possibility of funding at both univs and interns and job opportunities.

 

How do you understand what you need?

1) Take interview of a number of people who are seniors, juniors, pass outs. Spreadsheet them. (Done)

 

So have you taken the decision of which univ your going to ?

No.

 

Let me just clarify one thing. Opportunities for funding is remote in both univs, intern appears to be better in Neth. So its all about job and the struggle and the backup plans incase you don’t get a job.

 

Why have you not made a decision yet?

1) I find that most people I had interviewed so far have not been part of the struggle of getting a job. I feel (feel? really!) a testimony from the people who have been there and done that, is what is important. Its important because I can hear it from the horses mouth directly. I can get the best idea from them about job situation.

 

So whats stopping you? Why haven you done that?

I have not yet gotten their testimony. As per yesterdays commitment, I had sent out messages, and have a received a few contacts. I shall get to work on them tomorrow. So I’ll ask for them to share experiences and work on the responses to know where I shall be going.

 

How did yesterdays task help?

Yesterdays task helped me to finish a good load of work in the morning. I spent the rest of the day with friends. It has got me contacts. I am waiting for video chatting with them

 

What plans to get your seniors to talk?

Keep buzzing them every morning. Get them to talk.

 

Why haven you thought about transfer to say better colleges in US or europe?

I am just lazy as of the moment. I shall ask around if I need to or should think about transfer. I have to get out of my house this fall come what may (don’t ask reason).

 

US

Currently I have got rejects from safe univs as well. Applying in spring or fall implies I need to have better prospects. Unlikely for spring. Plus that means I need to work during my current holidays to get out some work. Transferring in fall feels like I wont have time to interact with new faculty there. I am one year short to build rapport with proffs and hence research with them there.

 

Why do I need to research with proffs?

Improves prospects for job.

 

Delft

This is already a very good school. This is the only univ I applied to in the europe. There might be better options for me. I do not know. Anyways…. I have reached this point that works for me. If delft can get be close to a job, that’s all I care about.

 

The question is would I be able to generate better prospects

 

What univ do you think you’ll be choosing? How do you know you are making a rational decision. I suspect its just going to be feel now. For I feel strongly about delft now. A final debate consolidating pros and cons soon…

 

Commitment for tomorrow?

Back pain exercise

Finish tallying excel sheet with FB chat messages repond to people etc…

Find a fucking gym and fucking pay the fees. All by 11:00 am except gymming. that takes 1: 00 pm.

Leave a comment